Only regret what you haven’t done. -Unknown

Student Sponsorship Opportunity

Dear Friends & Family,

I always had a hard time donating money to these international organizations all over the world because I wasn’t ever sure how the money was used or where it was going to. If you are of a similar mind set, then I have an opportunity for you. I have a former student who has recently passed the National Examination of Rwanda. This is the exam that you take at the end of your 8th grade year. If you pass, you are eligible to continue your education. In theory, education is free in Rwanda for 12 years. However, there are many other cost that go along with ‘free’ education – notebooks, pens, uniform fees, medical insurance, transport to school (you generally have to leave your village to attend 9-12th grades), and you must provide your own mattress.

This student, Arsest Philemon Niyigena, was one of our best students. I can vouch for this young man and his desire to learn and better his life as well as improve his country of Rwanda. His English was far above those of his peers and he is very interested and passionate about his education. He was the leader of our debate club for two years despite having work to do at home to be able to eat each night. He came to the library to read each weekend. He almost didn’t have enough money to take the National Examination this year. Instead of missing it, he took a week off of school in order to work a temporary manual labor job so that he could pay to take his exam.

Unfortunately, his family is very poor. His father died of AIDS when he was a young boy and now his mother and aunt are supporting  several children and an ailing grandmother. He is in need of support for this up and coming school year. He has given an estimate of $235 to cover the expenses for this school year so that he may continue his studies. I want to ask if there is anyone out there who is interested in sponsoring Arsest as he works to earn his high school diploma.

See his email to me below:

thank you father, i have nothing to say about what you do for me only God bless you and all your family for your love to me.

I’m happy for your care about my issues and help for continue my studies, because for me i was loosed my hope but you raise it up anyway it’s pleasure to have a good father like you. so i pray in Jesus name that you will get a good job,because God know your wants and needs.

let me introduce the situation about school requirements: first i have finished O’level and I’m going to start S4,school will start at 04th,Feb,2013. i try to calculate all expenses such us:school fees,mattress,transport,uniforms,notes books, pens,insurance fees,and other small expenses so i fund that it’s all about(frw150,000)or($235) it seems like to much money it’s because we will going to start the new academic yeah 2013.

i think it’s necessary to tell my parents names that you will use when you send money;”NIYIGENA Philemon” aka arsest.

i want to to excuse for a little late to reply the massage,other time i will try be quick as possible.so thank very much i love you to and Carina

we miss you so much!!!!

 THANKS!

If you are interested in sponsoring Arsest’s education, then please email me at: andrewskinton@gmail.com. I may have opportunities like this in the future as well.

One person can make a difference and everyone should try.

                                                               – John F. Kennedy

2 responses

  1. fishermandan

    My wife and I would be interested, Andy.

    DJV

    Sent from my iPhone

    February 1, 2013 at 12:51 am

    • Daniel,

      Thank you for your interest. I was contacted earlier today by a friend of mine who is going to sponsor Arsest. The outpouring of love, kindness, and generosity from you and others is inspiring to me. I hope that there will be more opportunities like this in the future. There are so many students who want to study but struggle with money in Rwanda.

      Andrew Kinton

      February 1, 2013 at 5:50 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers